智行資助的高中生中,80%升讀大學,而曾參加智行夏令營(屬於社會心理治療的一部分)的學生,升讀大學的比例更高達90%。這比例遠遠高於非智行資助學生的8-10%升讀大學比例。

直到目前為止,已有超過3,700名受資助學生入讀大學和研究院。當中2,729人已畢業,目前正於中國或海外從事各種職業,包括銷售、金融、教育、系統工程、設計、人力資源、酒店餐飲、醫療保健、建築、會計、行政、個人培訓、機械工程,新聞及交通管理等。

直到目前為止,智行已累積資助1,819名學生接受職業培訓,當中約1,400人已畢業。大約30%的學生在相關行業工作。

在智行資助的大學生中,超過20%的學生高考成績優異,除一般的教育資助外,亦獲得智行基金會的獎學金,作為獎勵。小朋就是一個很好的例子。他來自河南,從少得到智行的資助,憑努力不懈,以高考638的優良成續進入著名的北京理工大學。求學期間他經常在暑假抽出時間擔任智行義工,幫助和輔導年輕學生,這38顯示他已逐漸養成社會責任感。小朋已本科學業,現於北京為百度工作。

當我們到受資助學生家中進行訪問時,經常看到他們破舊房屋的牆上貼滿獎狀,這顯示他們多麽重視接受教育的機會,以及他們對學習的投入。

智行資助的高中畢業生,很多已升讀中國多間著名的大學,包括北京大學、北京師範大學、武漢大學、中山大學、浙江大學、廈門大學、交通大學、哈爾濱工業大學、南開大學、北航大學、民族大學和北京工業大學。

有些學生更獲得助學金或研究生獎學金,升讀海外大學,例如美國的喬治亞大學、英國的鴨巴甸大學、日本的新潟大學和澳洲的福林德斯大學。

*學生數字為2018-19學年數據。

2016年,「海上青焙坊」(智行的職業培訓項目) 的一名畢業生/現任講師,以中國隊員身份,在巴黎舉行的路易樂斯福世界盃麵包大賽中獲得第四名。這是一項四年一度的國際比賽,而中國隊更是首次晉級決賽,獲評審團頒發特別獎項,以表揚隊員的努力。這例子說明智行的學生並不比其他人遜色,如果有機會,他們亦能脫穎而出,達致國際水平。

傳媒的報導:一名獲智行資助的大學畢業生獲得全額獎學金,在喬治亞大學直接從學士學位攻讀博士學位。

也許有一天,我還能見到您,您可能會發現,那時的我就真的是隻展翅飛翔的”雄鷹”,而不是今日的無知”小麻雀”。我會飛得更高的,為了自己心中的那個信念,為了不辜負您對我的期望,更為了所有關心我的人,我也絶不能說”放棄”這個詞。

父母就是因為沒文化、沒錢才賣血被感染了愛滋病,我不能像他們一樣,我要跳出農門,用知識改變我的命運。

2007年,一名智行資助的大學畢業生返回河南家鄉創業,在獲得小額貸款後開辦養雞場,取得成功。最初他的家庭很貧困,需依賴智行的援助,但現時養雞場的收入每年大約為人民幣110,000元。此外,養雞場的成功,激勵其他村民考慮發展其他謀生方法,藉此脫離貧困,他們再不用靠賣血或從事其他危險或非法行為賺錢。

本著社區自救的精神,這位創業者向另一名智行資助的大學畢業生提供技術諮詢和專業知識,令他在2010年同樣在家鄉開辦養雞場。「知識改變命運」的說法在這兩個家庭得到印證,希望藉此開創一種趨勢,推動村莊和其他人走上脫貧之路。

孟(非真名以保護他的身份)從初中起接受智行資助,他以優異成績考上高中。孟家境貧困,父親感染了愛滋病,身體虛弱。母親在他高三時發生意外,癱瘓在床。家庭經濟陷入困境,令他一度被迫輟學。幸好有智行的資助,使他可以繼續求學。父母的病引發他對醫學的興趣,他努力不懈,以優異的成績考入一所醫科大學。

大學期間,孟有空時經常到智行辦公室義務幫忙。他曾數次參加智行的大學生暑期工作,以回饋智行,同時幫助和鼓勵其他年幼的受助者。他學業優秀,獲得國家勵志獎學金,並考上研究院。孟的妹妹也獲得資行資助,大學畢業後亦考上研究院。他們的母親如今已慢慢康復,可以做一些簡單的工作。如果沒有智行及時的幫助,很難想像孟的命運會如何。可能他高三時輟學外出打工,養活家人。

This post is also available in: 英語 簡體中文

80% of our high school graduates go on to university education. Among those who have attended our summer camps (part of psychosocial therapy), the percentage is as high as 90%. This is a stark contrast with the advancement rate of 8 – 10% among non-Chi Heng-supported students.

To date, over 3,700 of our sponsored students have gone on to university and graduate school. Among them, 2,729 have graduated and are now pursuing a large variety of careers in China and overseas, careers such as sales, finance, education, systems engineering, design, human resources, hospitality and catering, medical care, architecture and construction, accounting, administration, personal training, mechanical engineering, journalism, traffic administration, and many more.

To date, Chi Heng has cumulatively sponsored 1,819 students for vocational school training in which about 1,400 students have graduated. About 30% of these students have been working in related industries.

Among those who advance to university, over 20% do so with such superb graduating scores that they are given scholarships by Chi Heng Foundation as an encouragement, on top of the usual education sponsorship. Xiao Pang (小朋) is a prime example of this. Originally from Henan, he came under Chi Heng’s sponsorship from a young age, and, through his own hard work, graduated high school with a high score of 638, enabling him to be admitted to the prestigious Beijing Institute of Technology. While there, he always found time during summers to work as a volunteer at Chi Heng, helping and tutoring younger students, which shows the sense of social responsibility that has developed in him. Xiao Pang has now completed his undergrad studies and is working for Baidu in Beijing.

During home visits, we often see numerous award certificates pasted on the walls of the dilapidated houses that young sponsored students live in. It goes to show how much they value the opportunity of getting an education and how devoted they are to their school work.

Our sponsored high school graduates have gone on to many acclaimed universities throughout China including Peking University, Beijing Normal University, Wuhan University, Zhongshan University, Zhejian University, Xiamen University, Jiaotong University, Harbin Industrial University, Nankai University, Beihang University, Minzu University, and Beijing University of Technology.

Several students have even gone on to overseas universities with grants or scholarships for post-graduate studies, such as Georgia University in the United States, University of Aberdeen in the United Kindom, Niigata University in Japan, and Flinders University in Australia.

*student numbers updated with 2018-19 school year data.

In 2016, a graduate of and current instructor at our vocational training program, Shanghai Young Bakers, was a member of the China team that received 4th prize at the Louis Lesaffre Bakery World Cup baking contest in Paris. This is an international contest that is held once every four years, and this was the first time a team from China had advanced to the finals. For their accomplishment, they were awarded the Special Prize from the Jury, Lesaffre CSR Awards. This goes to show that our students are not in any way inferior to others. When given a chance, they too can excel by international standards.

Newspaper coverage of the university graduate sponsored by Chi Heng who received a full scholarship to pursue a PhD degree at the University of Georgia (with direct advancement from her undergraduate degree), after having been accepted by several U. S. universities for post-graduate studies.

“Perhaps, one day, I will get to meet you. Perhaps you will then discover that I have become an eagle with outstretched wings, and not the ignorant little sparrow that I am today. Because of the firm belief in my heart, because I won’t let you down on your expectations of me, and also because of all the people who care about me, I will soar ever higher and will never utter the words ‘give up’”

“My parents contracted AIDS from selling blood due to their illiteracy and poverty. I do not want to be like them. I must break free of this rural entrapment, and use knowledge to change my destiny.”

In 2007, a university graduate returned to his home village in Henan to start up his own business — a chicken farm – with the help of a microfinance loan. This business venture transformed an impoverished family that had to rely on Chi Heng sponsorship support to one that is currently earning roughly RMB 110,000 per year. In addition, it served to inspire the other villagers into thinking about branching out into other means of livelihood to pull themselves out of poverty, so that they would not have to engage in blood selling or other dangerous or illegal ways of making money.

In the spirit of community self-help, this graduate also provided technical advice and expertise to another Chi Heng university graduate who similarly started up a chicken farm in his home village in 2010. The saying “using knowledge to change your destiny” has come true to these two families, and the hope is that this will start a trend that will propel both villages and others on to the path of poverty relief.

Meng (not his real name to protect his identity) is a university student who has been under Chi Heng sponsorship since junior high school. His father is infected with HIV. Despite the difficulties at home, he achieved outstanding results in the nationwide senior high school entrance exam. During his third year in senior high, his mother became paralyzed from an accident. This tragedy, along with the health challenges of his father, further complicated the family’s finances and almost forced Meng to drop out of school. However, with Chi Heng’s subsidies, he was able to continue his education. His parents’ illnesses aroused his interest in medicine and, with top grades, he successfully got into a medical school.

During his undergraduate days, he often volunteered to help out at the Chi Heng office in his free time. In addition, he participated several times in our summer work program as a way to pay back Chi Heng as well as to help and encourage the younger children. With Chi Heng’s support, and through his own hard work, he continued to excel at his studies, received the National Endeavor Scholarship, and got accepted into a postgraduate school. His younger sister, another Chi Heng-sponsored child, also got accepted into university and eventually postgraduate school as well. Their mother is slowly recovering and can now do some simple work. If not for the support provided by Chi Heng, it is hard to imagine what Meng’s fate would be. Perhaps it would have taken a turn for the worse during his third senior high year, when he might have quit school so that he could work to support his family.

This post is also available in: Chinese (Traditional) Chinese (Simplified)